<u>Consultation Summary: Position Statement 4: Renewable Energy in the Malvern Hills National Landscape and its Setting</u>

PLEASE NOTE: On 22 November 2023, the Malvern Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB), was rebranded as the Malvern Hills National Landscape. National Landscapes are designated AONBs. For the purposes of this consultation summary, reference is made to the Malvern Hills AONB Unit when work was undertaken prior to re-branding, and the Malvern Hills National Landscape Team for work following re-branding.

Purpose of this summary

This note details the steps taken by the Malvern Hills National Landscape Team to consult others on a position statement relating to Renewable Energy in the Malvern Hills National Landscape and its setting.

Pre-Consultation

A consultation draft Position Statement was compiled by staff within the Malvern Hills AONB Unit during summer and early autumn 2023.

Consultation

The consultation draft was available to view on the Malvern Hills National Landscape website (https://www.malvernhills-nl.org.uk/consultations/) between 19 December 2023 and 28 February 2024. Visitors were encouraged to download the draft Position Statement and to submit comments via a downloadable comment form and return accordingly to the Malvern Hills National Landscape Team Planning Officer (shared).

Emails alerting people to the consultation and inviting a response were also sent to the following elected members, councils and interested stakeholders:

Elected Members		
Malvern Hills District Council		
Great Malvern – Cllr Beverley Neilsen		
Great Malvern – Cllr Cynthia Palmer		
West – Cllr Natalie Mcvey		
West – Cllr John Raine		
Alfrick,Leigh and Rushwick – Cllr Sarah Jane Rouse		
Alfrick, Leign and Rushwick - Cllr Peter Whatley		
Castlemorton, Welland and Wells – Cllr Christine Wild		
Castlemorton, Welland and Wells – Cllr John Gallagher		
Herefordshire Council		

Bishops Frome and Cradley - Cllr Ellie Chowns

Hope End - Cllr Helen Heathfield

Ledbury North – Cllr Liz Harvey

Ledbury South - Cllr Stef Simmons

Worcestershire County Council

Malvern Chase Division - Cllr Malcolm Victory

Malvern Link Division - Cllr Karen Hanks

Malvern Langland Division - Cllr Beverley Neilsen

Malvern Trinity Division - Cllr Natalie Mcvey

Powick Division - Cllr Tom Wells

Forest of Dean District Council

Hartbury & Redmarley - Cllr Philip Burford

Hartbury & Redmarley - Cllr Clayton Williams

Gloucestershire County Council

Newent Division - Cllr Gill Moseley

Parish & Town Council Clerks

Worcestershire

Alfrick and Lulsley Parish Council (Geoffrey Brewin)

Berrow Parish Council (Sheelagh Tooze)

Birtsmorton Parish Council (Christina Leake)

Castlemorton Parish Council (Christina Leake)

Knightwick and Doddenham Parish Council (Geoffrey Brewin)

Little Malvern and Welland Parish Council (David Sharp)

Malvern Town Council (Town Clerk)

Malvern Wells Parish Council (Sarah Hart)

Suckley Parish Council (Lynn Butler)

West Malvern Parish Council (David Sharp)

Leigh and Bransford Parish Council (Jacqui Barker)

Herefordshire

Colwall Parish Council (Karen Davis)

Cradley & Storridge Parish Council (Richard James)

Eastnor & Donnington Parish Council (Janet Chester)

Ledbury Town Council (Angie Price)

Mathon Parish Council (Diana Taylor)

Wellington Heath Parish Council (Mary Bernett)

Bosbury and Coddington Parish Council (Emma Thomas)

Gloucestershire

Bromsberrow Parish Council (David Mills)

Redmarley D'Abitot (Charlee Roberts)

Current members of the Malvern Hills AONB JAC and the Malvern Hills AONB Steering Group of relevance

Malvern Hills Trust (Duncan Bridges/Deborah Fox)

HALC (Sven Bosley)

Worcestershire CALC (Mike Wilkinson)

Country Land & Business Association

CPRE (Frank Hill)

NFU (Georgie Hyde)

Various organisations and interested parties

Natural England

NAAONBs

Carly Tinkler

Three Counties Showground

Herefordshire Wildlife Trust

Worcestershire Wildlife Trust
Gloucestershire Wildlife Trust
Herefordshire Local Nature Partnership
Worcestershire Local Nature Partnership
Gloucestershire Local Nature Partnership

Local authority staff	Job Title
Herefordshire Council	
Chloe Smart	Principal Planning Officer
Kelly Gibbons	Majors Team Development Manager
Andrew Banks	Northern Team Development Manager
Mandy Neill, Nigel Koch and Liz Duberley	Landscape Officers and Head of Built and Natural Environment Service
James Bisset	Ecologist
Richard Vaughan	Sustainability & Climate Change Manager
Malvern Hills District Council	
Ciaran Power	Development Control Manager
Gayle Wootton	Head of Planning & Infrastructure
Chris Lewis-Farley	Landscape Officer
Jane Sedgeley-Strachan	Natural Heritage and Biodiversity Officer
Clare Bull	Planning Officer
Worcestershire County Council	
Emily Barker	Head of Planning and Transport Planning
Cody Levine	Ecologist
Forest of Dean District Council	
Nigel Gibbons	Local Plans Manager
Clive Reynolds	Head of Development Management
Caroline Lidgett	Lead Ecology Officer

Gloucestershire County Council	
Planning Inbox	Central Email for development control

Publicising the consultation

In addition to the email notifications sent, the consultation process was publicised in the following ways:

Element	Comments
Website publicity	The consultation was publicised on the consultation page of the Malvern Hills National Landscape website from 19 December 2023 to 28 February 2024.
Social Media publicity	The consultation was publicised ('posted') on the Malvern Hills National Landscape Facebook page on 19 December 2023 and again on 19 February 2024.

Post-consultation

Comments received during the consultation process were logged by the Malvern Hills National Landscape Team and used to inform revisions to the draft position statement.

On 12 April 2024, all consultation comments received were posted (names redacted) on the Malvern Hills National Landscape website where papers for the Malvern Hills National Landscape Joint Advisory Committee meeting to be held on 26 April 2024 were published, alongside text setting out how the National Landscape Team had acted on each of the comments received and subsequent amendments to the position statement made.

End.